Tag Archives: Public Library Accreditation

Nebraska Library Commission Announces Public Library Accreditation

NLC Logo

January 12, 2023

Christa Porter

Nebraska Library Commission Announces Public Library Accreditation

Nebraska Library Commission Library Development Director Christa Porter recently announced the accreditation of twenty-nine public libraries across Nebraska.

Porter stated, “We are dedicated to helping Nebraska libraries meet Nebraskans’ information needs, opening up the world of information for citizens of all ages. The Library Commission continues to work in partnership with Nebraska libraries and the regional library systems, using the Public Library Accreditation program to help public libraries grow and develop.”

The Public Library Accreditation process was put on hiatus for two years, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, and was re-started in 2022.

Public libraries in Nebraska are accredited for a five-year period. To learn more about this process and to see a complete list of all accredited Nebraska public libraries, go to http://nlc.nebraska.gov/LibAccred/Standings.asp.

The Nebraska Library Commission congratulates the public libraries listed below as they move forward toward the realization of this vision for the future: “All Nebraskans will have improved access to enhanced library and information services, provided and facilitated by qualified library personnel, boards, and supporters with the knowledge, skills, abilities and attitudes necessary to provide excellent library and information services.”

Nebraska Public Libraries Accredited through December 31, 2027:

  • Agnes Robinson Waterloo Public Library
  • Bridgeport Public Library
  • Cedar Rapids Public Library
  • Chadron Public Library
  • Chappell Memorial Library & Art Gallery
  • Clay Center Public Library
  • Franklin Public Library
  • Fullerton Public Library
  • Hebron Secrest Library
  • Hoesch Memorial Public Library (Alma)
  • Howells Public Library
  • Kathleen Lute Public Library (Ogallala)
  • Keene Memorial Library (Fremont)
  • Lied Battle Creek Public Library
  • Lied Pierce Public Library
  • Logan County Library (Stapleton)
  • Lois Johnson Memorial Library (Oakdale)
  • Louisville Public Library
  • Meadow Grove Public Library
  • Nelson Public Library
  • Osmond Public Library
  • Palmyra Memorial Library
  • Ravenna Public Library
  • St. Paul Public Library
  • Sterling Public Library
  • Valley Public Library
  • Verdigre Public Library
  • Walthill Public Library
  • Wilson Public Library (Cozad)

The Nebraska Library Commission would also like to congratulate two of these libraries on earning accreditation for the very first time. Those libraries are:

  • Logan County Library (Stapleton)
  • Sterling Public Library

As the state library agency, the Nebraska Library Commission is an advocate for the library and information needs of all Nebraskans. The mission of the Library Commission is statewide promotion, development, and coordination of library and information services, “bringing together people and information.”


The most up-to-date news releases from the Nebraska Library Commission are always available on the Library Commission Website, http://nlc.nebraska.gov/publications/newsreleases.

Posted in General, Public Relations | Tagged , , | Leave a comment