Rita Award Finalists Announced

RitastatuetteThe Romance Writers of America (RWA) have announced the finalists for their annual RITA awards for best published romances.  The RITAs are awarded in 9 categories:
  • Best First Book
  • Contemporary Romance
  • Erotic Romance
  • Historical Romance
  • Inspirational Romance
  • Paranormal Romance
  • Romance Novella
  • Romantic Suspense
  • Short Contemporary Romance.
This year the lists comprise 77 titles.  The award winners will be announced at the RWA annual conference in San Antonio on July 26. According to the RWA, romance made up the largest share of the U.S. consumer market in 2012 at 16.7 percent, and romance was the top-performing category on the NYT, USA Today, and PW best-seller lists.  That’s a lot of romance between the covers, and a few hints about what to select for the collection, such as these award nominations, are handy. The Nebraska Library Commission will be discussing romance fiction during our August 13 NCompass Live Webinar.
This entry was posted in Books & Reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *