Nebraska Library Commission Awards 21st Century Librarian Scholarships

Thanks to a grant from the federal Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS), the Nebraska Library Commission recently awarded 21st Century Librarian scholarships to thirty-eight Nebraska students in undergraduate and graduate Library Science programs. Nebraska Library Commission Director Rod Wagner commented, “The 21st Century Librarian scholarships contribute to a workforce equipped to provide the kind and quality of library services expected in Nebraska’s communities and schools. The Nebraska Library Commission is pleased to support Nebraska students involved in library science education programs. We offer our best wishes to these students in pursuing their educational and career goals.” Students who wish to apply for scholarships for a Library and Information Services Professional Certificate (offered through Nebraska’s community colleges), an Associate of Arts or Science Degree in Library and Information Services, or a Bachelor of Arts or Science Degree with a major in Library and Information Science or Library Media should submit application materials by November 1, 2012. For more information about Nebraska’s Cultivating Rural Librarians’ 21st Century Skills program, see For a list of current scholarship recipients, see NOTE: Due to the significant number of applications for the Nebraska Library Commission master’s-level scholarships (funded through the Librarians for the 21st Century Program of the Institute of Museum and Library Services), as of July 1, 2012, graduate-level scholarships will no longer be available. Scholarships DO continue to be available for undergraduate Library Science studies, including LIS certificates, and Associate’s and Bachelor’s degrees. The Institute of Museum and Library Services is the primary source of federal support for the nation’s 123,000 libraries and 17,500 museums. The Institute’s mission is to create strong libraries and museums that connect people to information and ideas. The Institute works at the national level and in coordination with state and local organizations to sustain heritage, culture, and knowledge; enhance learning and innovation; and support professional development. To learn more about the Institute, please visit June 2012 Scholarship Recipients Nancy Armstrong, Ogallala Jennifer Barnason, Lincoln Nancy Black, Uehling Michaela Braun, Atkinson Dixie Codner, Wood River Shanna Crosby-Wilson, Omaha Kelley Dible, Sidney Karen Dittbrenner, Beatrice Michael Elsener, Lincoln Susan Finkral, Leigh Justine Goeden, West Point Emily Hilkemann, Pierce Anne Hubbell, Lincoln Chandra Kosmicki, Boelus Angela Kroeger, Omaha Jared Lechner, Norfolk Ann Maass, Bellevue Brian Maass, Bellevue Misty McClain, North Platte Cory McCune, Omaha Emily McIllece, Elkhorn Jennifer Misbach , Omaha Cally O’Brien, Schuyler Annette Parde, Lincoln Jayme Prisbell, Omaha Stephen Sautter, York Dorothy Schultz, Wood River Andrew Sherman, Omaha Amanda Sisavanh, Bennington Stefanie Skrdla, Gretna Shari Spiehs-Hudson, Springfield Jordan Stough, Bellevue Rozanne Tuttle, Ogallala David Watchorn, Ponca Celeste Wright, Lincoln
This entry was posted in Education & Training, Now hiring @ your library and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *