Official Nebraska Government Website

Agenda

Monday, August 22, 2011

 

Registration – 10 – 11 am CT / 9 – 10 am MT

Continental Breakfast

Welcome to Summer Camp! – 11 – 11:15 am CT / 10 – 10:15 am MT

 

E-rate 101: The Basics – 11:15 – 12:15 pm CT / 10:15 – 11:15 pm MT

Christa Burns – NLC

What is E-rate? How can my library benefit from E-rate? How do I apply for E-rate? E-rate is a federal program that provides discounts to assist schools and libraries in the United States to obtain affordable telecommunications and Internet access. This Basic session will be useful to libraries who have never applied for E-rate, libraries who are new to E-rate and current E-rate libraries who just want a refresher on what E-rate is all about.

Lunch – 12:15 – 1:15 pm CT / 11:15 – 12:15 pm MT

 

Why Technology Planning? – 1:15 – 3:15 pm CT / 12:15 – 2:15 pm MT

Laura Johnson & Michael Sauers – NLC

Technology Planning is good for your library! This session will take you through the ins and outs of technology planning for your library in this world of ever-changing tech. Topics will include the whys of technology planning and how it aligns with your library’s mission and priorities, and the how—from formulating your library’s technology goals to technologies you should be planning for now.

Break – 3:15 – 3:30 pm CT / 2:15 – 2:30 pm MT

 

TechAtlas for Libraries – 3:30 – 4:30 pm CT / 2:30 – 3:30 pm MT

Kendra Morgan – WebJunction

This session will explore how the free TechAtlas for Libraries software can help you with everything from starting your technology plan to managing your technology inventory. We’ll explore how to get set-up with an account, the highlights of the planning software and also look at how to create your technology inventory. We’ll be joined by Kendra Morgan from WebJunction who will be able to answer your questions about TechAtlas and help set you off in the right direction!

Dinner – 5:30 pm – ? CT / 4:30 pm – ? MT

 

Tuesday, August 23, 2011

 

Welcome to Day 2 – 9 – 9:05 am CT / 8 – 8:05 am MT

Continental Breakfast – starting at 8:30 am CT / 7:30 am MT

Benchmarks for Technology Services – 9:05 – 9:15 am CT / 8:05 – 8:15 am MT

Mary Jo Ryan – NLC

An unprecedented national coalition has formed to design and pilot a series of public access technology benchmarks for public libraries, with $2.8 million in funding from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. The coalition—which represents library and local government leaders—will develop guidelines that define quality technology services at libraries and how to continuously improve them to motivate local re-investment in public technology access at libraries.

Focus on Sustainability and Advocacy – 9:15 – 10:45 am CT / 8:15 – 9:45 am MT

Richard Miller – NLC, Marcia White – Nebraska Community Foundation, Pat Leach – Lincoln City Libraries

This session will cover the importance of local fund raising (in addition to tax income) for keeping technology as up-to-date as possible, and how that can be achieved most effectively. Speakers will discuss the Nebraska Community Foundation and its programs; Lincoln City Library’s fund-raising efforts through its Foundation; ideas from “Turning the Page;” and the establishment of “sinking funds.” The general idea is that keeping library technology must be viewed as part of the cost of doing business in a modern library.

Break – 10:45 – 11 am CT / 9:45 – 10 am MT

 

Fear of Filtering: The Reality of Internet Content Management – 11 am – 12:30 pm CT / 10 – 11:30 am MT

 

Introduction – John Felton, NLC. One of the opportunities available to assist libraries in supporting their broadband connectivity costs is applying for E-rate discounts on internet service. This necessitates complying with the requirements of the Children’s Internet Protection Act (CIPA) by filtering internet access. In this session we will hear about what CIPA actually requires, about the issues a library director must deal with when deciding to filter internet access, about how filtering can be accomplished with low cost, and about the results of a survey completed by Nebraska libraries that have installed a filter.
CIPA: Myths vs. Reality – Christa Burns, NLC, will clear up some of the misconceptions about CIPA and how it relates to E-rate.
Filtering Internet Content – Pam Soreide, Holdrege Area Public Library, & George Matzen, Webermeier Memorial Library. Participants in this session will leave with a sense of what factors should be considered in the decision whether or not to filter Internet content at public workstations. Discussion will include patron perceptions and management issues.

Lunch – 12:30 – 1:30 pm CT / 11:30 am – 12:30 pm MT

 

ADA Software Demo – 1:30 – 3:30 pm CT / 12:30 – 2:30 pm MT

Pat Fischer – Accessibility dot Net, Inc.

See a demonstration of the ADA software that has been selected for the Library Broadband Builds Nebraska Communities grant:

  • Dragon NaturallySpeaking – speech recognition software
  • JAWS Screen Reading Software
  • Kurzweil 1000 – Text to Speech software
  • ZoomText – screen magnifier software