Nebraska Library Commission Awards 21st Century Skills Scholarships  

  Thanks to a grant from the federal Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS), the Nebraska Library Commission recently awarded 21st Century Librarian scholarships to ten Nebraska students in undergraduate and graduate Library Science programs. Nebraska Library Commission Director Rod Wagner commented, “The Nebraska Library Commission is pleased to support Nebraska students engaged in pre-professional library science educational programs. The focus on 21st century skills is essential to meeting the library service needs of Nebraska’s diverse population. We expect that our program will assist in providing students with needed skills leading to higher quality library services across Nebraska.” Students who wish to apply for scholarships for a Library and Information Services Professional Certificate (offered through Nebraska’s community colleges), an Associate of Arts or Science Degree in Library and Information Services, a Bachelor of Arts or Science Degree with a major in Library and Information Science or Library Media, a Master of Arts or Science Degree in Library and Information Science, a Master of Arts or Science degree in Education with a School Library Media endorsement, or a Graduate-level School Library Media Endorsement should submit application materials by June 1, 2012. For more information about Nebraska’s Cultivating Rural Librarians’ 21st Century Skills program, see  For a list of current scholarship recipients, see The Institute of Museum and Library Services is the primary source of federal support for the nation’s 123,000 libraries and 17,500 museums. The Institute’s mission is to create strong libraries and museums that connect people to information and ideas. The Institute works at the national level and in coordination with state and local organizations to sustain heritage, culture, and knowledge; enhance learning and innovation; and support professional development. To learn more about the Institute, please visit April 2012 Scholarship Recipients Andrea Wright, Omaha Kimberly Rothgeb, Omaha Libby Munsell, York Angela Krejci, Louisville Nicholas Runyan, Ainsworth Angela Stacie Bannon, Lincoln Jill Sempek, Columbus Carryna Northup, Lincoln Michelle McCay-Broyles, Holdrege Monica Tidyman, Stromsburg  
This entry was posted in General, Now hiring @ your library. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.